Senoia Raceway

Trend of first-time winners emerges

Senoia Raceway could be in for another ‘Goode’ night of competition if a recent trend continues involving first-time winners at the 3/8-mile clay track. 

Hampton driver Richard Goode piloted his Crown Security Chevrolet to his first career win at Senoia Raceway last week Goode became the second driver in as many weeks to notch his first victory in the highly competitive Newnan Bonding B Cadet class. Goode held off the class point’s leader Roger Arnett for the win.

Other feature winners from last week night included Roopville’s Clifton Moran in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, Michael Mills of Moreland in the Bombers, Sharpsburg’s Robbie Scadron in the Modified Mini and Newnan’s Bobby Arnold in the Mini Stocks. 

LaGrange’s Tod Darda won his fifth straight in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models.

There will also be Kids Bike and Trike races where all participants will receive prizes. Trophies will be awarded to race winners in each age group.

Last week, Goode used his front row position to outgun Alabama’s Roger Arnett to snare the lead in the Newnan Bonding B Cadet main event. But he still had to continue to fight off challenges as the field was slowed for several cautions, the worst of which came when when Opelika, Ala., driver Kelly Leonard lost his grip in Turn 2 and collected five competitors. A few laps later Concord’s Todd Hatchett slipped in Turn 1 and collected the previous week’s winner, Parrish Duncan of Newnan.

Goode took home his first win at Senoia, while Roger Arnett ran second for the second straight week and Hampton’s Paul ‘Cowboy’ Holloway was third.

Holloway paid tribute to his father John Paul ‘Bill’ Holloway prior to the night’s racing action. Bill Holloway passed away Memorial Day weekend, but had informed his family prior to his death that he wished for his son Paul Holloway to take him for ‘one last lap’. With the crowd standing in honor, ‘Cowboy’ drove a quiet lap to honor his late father’s wish on the eve of Father’s Day.

Clifton ‘Hog Head’ Moran took advantage of a small slip by Austin Horton, the ‘Grantville Grenade’, and then never looked back posting the Hobby Stock feature win. Moran chased Horton for the first half of the race working the low side of the track. Horton charged into turn three on Lap 10, pushed and then bounced up a groove, which opened the door for Moran to claim his 47th victory in the last two-plus seasons.

Barnesville’s Gary Parker and Hampton’s Mark Newton squared off in the Mini Stock event. Going into turn three Parker turned into Newton spinning him. Newton retaliated by driving his car over the front of Parker during the caution laps. Newton was relegated to the pit area while Parker had to make repairs.

Newnan driver Bobby ‘Wild Child’ Arnold ran out front and away from the numerous cautions en route to his second straight win. A week early, Arnold earned his signature victory at Senoia, much like Goode. 

Stockbridge’s Megan Younginer ran her second career dirt race and kept clean throughout finishing among the top three. Brandon Brock of Hampton, who leads the Mini Stocks series, was fourth while Griffin’s Bubba Hicks rounded the first five.

In the Bombers feature Opelika driver Bill Smith also looked ready to cash in with his first career win at Senoia Raceway, but his car developed a bad push near the halfway mark on Lap 9, allowing allowing Michael Mills and Luthersville’s James Barber to scoot past. Smith would hold on to finish third ahead of Palmetto’s Josh Roddy and Newnan’s Kevin Evans.

Tod Darda continued to avoid problems in the Late Model division en route to his fifth consecutive win. The LaGrange driver had the only car not to get caught up in a first-lap crash. Newnan’s Scott Duffey and Jenkinsburg’s Trey White completed the top-three finishers.

Robbie Scadron rounded out the victors besting the Modified Mini after Villa Rica family members Allen Brewster and Todd Brewster fell out with mechanical issues.

The demolition derby was full of just as much crashing as the six stock car racing divisions. Newnan’s Kayla Payton was declared the winner after putting the final hit on her nearest opponents.

Tonight’s schedule includes a full night of racing with features in Late Models, B Cadets, Hobby Stocks, Mini Stocks, Bombers and Modified Mini. Pit gates open at 5 p.m., and grandstands at 6. The first green flag flies at 8 p.m., following hot laps.

Official Results from June 15, 2013

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models

1. Tod Darda, LaGrange;  2. Scott Duffey, Newnan; 3. Trey White, Jenkinsburg; 4. Russ Ogletree, Phenix City, Ala.; 5. Jamie Carr, LaGrange; 6. Glenn Morris, Fayetteville; 7. Scott Howard, Locust Grove; 8. Scott Conner, Newnan; 9. Dennis Hale, LaGrange; 10-Matt Dooley, Brooks; Fast Qualifier: Darda 15.129 seconds

Newnan Bonding B Cadets

1. Richard Goode, Hampton; 2. Roger Arnett, Lanett, Ala.; 3. Paul Holloway, Hampton; 4. Kelly Leonard, Opelika, Ala.; 5. Blake Griffin, Grantville; 6. Thomas Mewborn, Greenville; 7. Brandon Pjinenberg, Five Points, Ala.; 8. Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey 9. Billy Stevenson, Stockbridge; 10. Jimmy Baxter, Newnan; 11. Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan; 12. Corey Payton, Newnan; 13. Jason Miller, Fayetteville; 14. Chris Arnett, Opelika, Ala.;15. Todd Hatchett, Concord; 16. Shaun Dailey, Senoia; 17. Parrish Duncan, Newnan Heat Winners: R. Arnett and Goode

Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks

1. Clifton Moran, Roopville; 2. Austin Horton, Grantville; 3. Houston Hatchett, Williamson; 4. Kerry Carden, Brooks; 5. Wilson Boozer, Locust Grove; 6. Gary Brand, Franklin; 7. John Holcomb, Griffin; 8. Michael Hillman, Douglasville; 9. Lee Owenby, Newnan; 10. Joey McConnell, Hogansville; Heat Winners: Moran and Horton

Mini Stock

1. Bobby Arnold, Newnan; 2. Gary Parker, Barnesville; 3. Megan Younginer, Stockbridge; 4. Brandon Brock, Hampton; 5. Bubba Hicks, Griffin; 6. Andy Hames, Douglasville; 7. Alex Rudolph, Griffin; 8. Mark Newton, Hampton;  Heat Winner: Newton


1. Michael Mills, Moreland; 2. James Barber, Luthersville; 3. Bill Smith, Lanett, Ala.; 4. Josh Roddy, Palmetto; 5. Kevin Evans, Newnan; 6. George Purgason, Hogasnville; 7. Randy Cornwell, Peachtree City; 8. Patrick Williamson, Newnan;  Heat Winner: Smith

Modified Mini

1. Robbie Scadron, Sharpsburg; 2. Michael Spencer, Newnan; 3. Joe Spencer, Newnan; 4. Trey Wood, Newnan; 5. Allen Brewster, Villa Rica; 6. Todd Brewster, Villa Rica

More Sports

High School Football

Vikings look to carry early momentum into visit to Troup

Northgate head football coach Tommy Walburn had nothing but praise following a 45-0 shutout over Shaw to open the season last Friday in Colu ... Read More

High School Softball

Andrews fires shutout in win over Starr’s Mill

Newnan softball pitcher Addie Andrews has proven she can go out and throw just about every day for the Lady Cougars. For the second time in ... Read More

Middle School Football

Heritage rolls to win over Calvary

The Heritage School Middle School football team rolled to a 20-0 victory over Calvary Christian in action last week. Camden Trammell scored ... Read More

High School Volleyball

East Coweta, Northgate sweep area matches

East Coweta didn’t waste any time opening up its Area 3-AAAAAA volleyball schedule on Tuesday, sweeping Pebblebrook (25-19, 25-13) and ... Read More

Cross Country

Indians fourth at Early Bird meet

East Coweta’s boys cross country team placed fourth among 18 teams in the Varsity Boys I division during last Saturday’s annual ... Read More

High School Softball

Newnan rallies past Bowdon; ECHS opens region with 19-0 rout

The Newnan Lady Cougars spotted Bowdon a two-run lead on the road Tuesday afternoon, but rallied for a 6-4 victory in non-region softball ac ... Read More