Senoia Raceway

Newnan driver claims Firecracker 30


Senoia Raceway hosts its second Jewel Series races this Saturday, with a set of feature races on tap for all divisions, creating an opportunity for double points. 

Veteran Newnan driver Craig Scott posted his biggest win yet at Senoia Raceway on Saturday, claiming victory in last Saturday’s Firecracker 30 feature race in the B Cadets and a $1,000 prize as the ?-mile clay track celebrated the holiday weekend with some top-notch racing and fireworks.

Among a field of 15 cars, Scott jumped to a lead from the outside front-row, beat pole-sitter Marc Gooden to the first turn and never looked back.

Other winners on the holiday weekend special included Fayetteville’s Glenn Morris in the Late Model, Franklin’s Chris Steele in the Hobby Stock, Newnan’s Brandon Libri in the Mini Stock, Alabama’s Paul Walters in the Bomber division and Carrollton’s Dustin Smith in the Modified Mini category.

In front of a packed house, The Newnan Bonding B Cadet special feature saw Scott outlast a number of cautions and restarts before claiming his first win of the season. The 30-lap special was slowed by several cautions for spun race cars, accidents and cars stopped with mechanical issues.

Points leader Jason Miller of Jonesboro flew back from a family vacation for the special event. Miller may have wished he stayed in Florida as he was involved in several cautions and exited early with a badly damaged race car.

Scott had no issues and won pulling away from Gooden while LaGrange’s Buck Ussery finished in third ahead of Newnan’s Parrish Duncan and Bowdon driver Wesley Lyle.

Recapping Saturday’s other feature races:

HOBBY STOCK: Chris Steele battled with Williamson’s Houston Hatchett for the first 14 circuits of the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock main before running side by side for a lap and a half and then securing the top spot.

Steele won for the third time this season with Hatchett finishing second. Nathan McBride of Salem, Ala., ran third in his first appearance at the track. Brooks driver Mike Jenkins was fourth and Ben Steele of Franklin took fifth.

BOMBER: Paul Walters led from start to finish in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber class, but it was not an easy win. Senoia’s Winford Minix pestered Walters the entire race making slight contact with him on a few occasions. It didn’t waver the veteran as he claimed his second win of the season. Minix settled for second with Griffin’s John Holcomb, Palmetto’s Josh ‘Hot’ Roddy and Griffin’s Alex Rudolph completing the top five.

“He bumped me a couple of times,” said Walters afterwards. “But that just told me to pick up the pace a little.”

LATE MODEL: Jodeco Auto Sales points leader Glenn Morris has been strong for the past six weeks winning twice, nabbing fast qualifier marks and running among the top three on a weekly basis.

Morris claimed the top spot again on Saturday as he bested Alabama’s Dana Eiland who had won the previous week. Eiland never was close as Morris had his Chevrolet dialed in to the bull ring. Thomaston’s Shane Fulcher was third followed by Grantville’s Austin Horton and Columbus hot shoe Pat Wall.

“It’s not easy to beat guys like that,” said Morris. “The car is just running good.”

MINI STOCK: Sixteen-year-old Brandon ‘Goose’ Libri moved into victory lane after apparent winner Brandon Brock of Hampton was disqualified after refusing to tear down his engine after it was protested by another competitor. Brock chose not to tear down as he is selling his car in preparation for a move to Legends division.

MODIFIED MINI: Dustin Smith won the Modified Mini race after leader Todd Brewster broke down for the third straight week.


Senoia Raceway offers racers and race fans a double dose of racing on Saturday when the Jewel Series returns for the second leg of a three night series. Each division will compete in a pair of feature races offering double the points for a single night of racing. The points accumulated go towards the driver’s year end tally, as well as their ranking for the Jewel Series.

Pit gates open at 5 p.m., and grandstands at 6. Drivers will take the track for hot laps beginning at 7:30, with racing set to begin at 8.

Grandstand admission is $12 or $5 for ages 6-12. Pit passes are $25 or $12 for ages 3-12.

Trackside parking is available on first come, first serve basis and includes access to the pit area.

For more information, check or call the speedway at 404-796-1435.

Saturday’s Results

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model

1. Glenn Morris, Fayetteville

2. Dana Eiland, Phenix City, Ala.

3. Shane Fulcher, Thomaston

4. Austin Horton, Grantville

5. Pat Wall, Columbus

6. Clifton Moran, Roopville

7. Chad Wallace, LaGrange

8. Corey Payton, Newnan

9. Richard Dale, Winston

10. Tod Darda, LaGrange

Newnan Bonding B Cadet

1. Craig Scott, Newnan

2. Marc Gooden, Lafayette, Ala.

3. Buck Ussery, LaGrange

4. Parrish Duncan, Newnan

5. Wesley Lyle, Bowdon

6. Bubba Gorman, Phenix City, Ala.

7. Thomas Mewborn, Greenville

8. Roger Arnett, Lanett, Ala.

9. Bennie Croy, McDonough

10. Paul Holloway, Hampton

11. Jason Miller, Jonesboro

12. Cory Hillman, Douglasville

13. Dusty Jones, LaGrange

14. TJ Joiner, Lithia Springs

15. Charlie Garrett, LaGrange

Fast Qualifier: Gooden (15.919 seconds)

Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock

1. Chris Steele, Franklin

2. Houston Hatchett, Williamson

3. Nathan McBride, Salem, Ala.

4. Mike Jenkins, Brooks

5. Ben Steele, Franklin

6. Todd Hatchett, Concord

7. Chad Foster, Griffin

8. Gary Brand, Senoia

9. Sam Carter, Covington

10. Bryson Ussery, LaGrange

DNS-Scott Sherrer, Newnan; Tommy Jerrell, Helfin, Ala.; Ben Wells, Milner

Heat Winners: Ben Steele; Wells

Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock

1. Brandon Libri, Newnan

2. Harold Leath, Griffin

3. Tim Collier, Hogansville

4. Allen Barber, Douglasville

5. Matt Thompson, Douglasville

6. Cassie Dingler-Still, Newnan

DNS-Gary Parker, Barnesville

DQ-Brandon Brock, Hampton (protest refusal) Heat Winner: Libri

A1 Hydraulics Bomber

1. Paul Walters, Valley, Ala.

2. Winford Minix, Senoia

3. John Holloway, Griffin

4. Josh Roddy, Palmetto

5. Alex Rudolph, Griffin

6. David Johnson, Griffin

7. Jim Jackson, Zebulon

8. Carley Arnett, Lanett, Ala.

9. Jay Conner, Alvaton

10. Jonathan Hemmings, Newnan

11. George Purgason, Hogansville

DNS-Bobby Arnold, Newnan Heat Winners: Minix; Walters

Modified Mini

1. Dustin Smith, Carrollton

2. Dorough Bright, Newnan

3. Todd Brewster, Villa Rica

More Sports

Local Golf

Kirby Invitational opens at Newnan Country Club

The annual W.W. Kirby Invitational golf tournament at Newnan Country Club began with the first of two rounds on Saturday. Well over 100 pla ... Read More

A Thunderous finish

Senoia's Johnson wins Thursday Thunder masters title

Tina Johnson closed out her 14-year Thursday Thunder career as a champion. The Senoia driver and series fan favorite captured her first ever ... Read More

High School Football

Indians finding comfort zone after strong debut under Pardue

One season can make a big difference in the development of a high school quarterback. It’s why second-year East Coweta head football c ... Read More

Pan Am Games

Sanchez connects for Puerto Rico to help advance to medal round

Former East Coweta softball player Shemiah Sanchez has a chance to bring home a medal at the Pan American Games after helping her Puerto Ric ... Read More

College Football/Where Are They Now?

Lakes earns preseason Southern Conference honors

Alex Lakes is poised for another impressive football season at Mercer University. The rest of the Southern Conference feels likewise. The fo ... Read More

High School Football

Cougars ‘excited to put the pads back on’

Regardless of finish, Newnan head football coach Mike McDonald knows that one can never rely on past efforts when looking toward the future. ... Read More