Senoia Raceway

10 drivers reach winner’s circle to open Jewel Series


In addition to an intense week of action that included 10 winners among 12 features, the track also had a few horrific-looking accidents. They included one involving Brooks driver Kerry Carden’s Camaro in the initial Hobby Stock feature. Carden was unharmed.

Ten drivers visited the Senoia Raceway winner’s circle on Saturday in this year’s Jewel Series season opener.

The annual three-event series offers competitors double features but only one of six divisions saw a driver sweep on its opening night.

“The Jewel Series always creates some of the best racing and the most winners,” said Senoia Raceway promoter Tim Moses. “The drivers draw for position and that usually creates more passing and racing. It is definitely more entertaining for the fan and you get to see some drivers run up front that may not be there on a regular night with the qualifying heat races lining up the features.”

Racing resumes this Saturday with all six weekly divisions competing along with the motorcycle engine powered Legends Cars. Race fans will also have a pre-race opportunity to meet the drivers, get autographs and see the race cars up close during the night’s driver autograph session.

Last weekend’s winners included two from both Thomas Lewis of Hamilton in the Late Model division and a pair from Franklin driver Chris Steele in the Hobby Stock class.

Whitesburg’s Blant Duke and LaGrange’s David Osbahr split the main events for the B Cadets.

In other divisions Senoia’s Winford Minix and Alvaton’s Jay Conner picked up wins in the Bomber class and brothers Harold and Marc Leath split Mini Stock features.

The Modified Mini division also saw Douglasville’s Aubrey Merrit and Newnan’s Dorough Bright race to victories.

In addition to the great racing action and multiple winners, the tough track also had a few horrific-looking accidents.

They included one involving Brooks driver Kerry Carden’s Camaro in the initial Hobby Stock feature. Carden, who was unharmed, was running a strong third when he bounced off the front stretch wall and barrel-rolled three times.

The Bomber division also saw a rollover in the second feature when Franklin’s Terri Thomaston tangled with Mike Ray, with Ray ending up on her roof in Turn 2. He was also OK.

In the first race of the night, Thomaston was running in front of the leaders on the final lap, but caught up in another wreck. Race leader Dustin Smith dove low in Turn 3 to try and pass Thomaston while Jay Conner was fast on his tail. Smith snagged Thomaston’s left quarter panel and drove up into the driver’s side window with his right-side tires. While up on two wheels, Conner shot past into the lead out of the final turn and stole the win, with Smith in second.

The double feature racing action also scrambled the point standings in all the weekly chases. LaGrange’s Tod Darda still leads the way in the Late Models while Newnan’s Johnny Stinchcomb leads a group including Jason Miller and David Osbahr in the B Cadets.

Points races are even tighter in the Bomber and Mini Stock divisions.

Griffin’s John Holcomb and Dustin Smith are only separated by one point going into this weekend’s holiday racing card in the Bombers, while Harold Leath leads former Senoia Mini Stock champion Gary Parker of Barnesville in the four-cylinder Mini Stock standings.

The pit gates will open at 5 p.m. on Saturday and grandstand gates at 6 p.m. Drivers will take the track for hot laps at 7:15 p.m. to allow for the autograph session to take place prior to racing at 8.

Ticket prices for grandstand admission is $12 and $5 for children 6-12. Pit passes are $25 or $12 for children ages 3-12.

Trackside parking is available on first come, first serve basis and includes access to the pit area.

For more information, go to or call the speedway at 404-796-1435.

Saturday’s Results

Late Model

Feature 1 — 1. Thomas Lewis, Hamilton; 2. Glenn Morris, Fayetteville; 3. Tod Darda, LaGrange; 4. Dusty Jones, LaGrange; 5. Shane Fulcher, Thomaston; 6. Austin Horton, Grantville; 7. Clifton Moran, Roopville; 8. Marcus Caswell, Newnan; 9. Parrish Duncan, Newnan; 10. Rick Woodruff, Peachtree City; 11. Corey Payton, Newnan; 12. Craig Scott, Newnan

Feature 2 — 1. Lewis; 2. Darda; 3. Jones; 4. Fulcher; 5. Morris; 6. Caswell; 7. Moran; 8. Duncan; 9. Payton; 10. Woodruff; 11. Horton; DNS. Scott

B Cadet

Feature 1 — 1. Blant Duke, Whitesburg; 2. David Osbahr, LaGrange; 3. Richard Smith, Douglasville; 4. Charlie Garrett, LaGrange; 5. Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan; 6. Bennie Croy, McDonough; 7. Don Doyce, Locust Grove; 8. Jason Miller, Jonesboro; 9. Paul Holloway, Hampton; 10. Wesley Lyle, Bowden; 11. Jeff Carter, Stockbridge

Feature 2 — 1. Osbahr; 2. Miller; 3. Stinchcomb; 4. Garrett; 5. Holloway; 6. Croy; 7. Doyce 8. Smith DNS-Duke; Carter; Lyle

Hobby Stock

Feature 1 — 1. Chris Steele, Franklin; 2. Houston Hatchett, Williamson; 3. Ben Wells, Milner; 4. Bill Brown, Forsyth; 5. Chad Foster, Griffin; 6. Wilson Boozer, Locust Grove; 7. Sam Carter, Covington; 8. Ronnie Thacker, Grantville; 9. Kerry Carden, Brooks; 10. Mike Jenkins, Brooks.

Feature 2 — 1. Steele; 2. Hatchett; 3. Foster; 4. Boozer; 5. Jenkins; 6. Carter; 7. Wells 8. Thacker; 9. Brown; DNS-Carden

Mini Stock

Feature 1 — 1. Harold Leath, Griffin; 2. Gary Parker, Barnesville; 3. Randy Brady, Douglasville; 4. Marc Leath, Hampton; 5. Robbie Quinta, Stockbridge; 6. Cassie Dingler, Newnan; 7. Robert Caldwell, Senoia; 8. Trey Lewallen, Lithia Springs; DNS-Brandon Libri, Newnan

Feature 2 — 1. Marc Leath; 2. Parker; 3. Harold Leath; 4. Lewallen; 5. Brady; 6. Caldwell ; 7. Dingler; 8. Quinta; DNS-Libri


Feature 1 — 1. Jay Conner, Alvaton; 2. Dustin Smith, Senoia; 3. John Holcomb, Griffin; 4. Winford Minix, Senoia; 5. Hoke Duke, Whitesburg; 6. Michael Lilly, Lithia Springs; 7. Josh Roddy, Palmetto; 8. Alex Rudolph, Griffin; 9. Pappy Powell, Hogansville; 10. James Barber, Jr., Luthersville; 11. Carley Arnett, Lanett, Ala.; 12. Mike Ray, Riverdale; 13. Terri Thomaston, Franklin

Feature 2 — 1. Minix; 2. Roddy; 3. Smith; 4. Rudolph; 5. Lilly; 6. Holcomb; 7. Barber ; 8. Powell; 9. Arnett; 10. Conner; 11. Thomaston; 12. Ray; DNS-Duke

Modified Mini

Feature 1 — 1. Aubrey Merrit, Carrollton; 2. Dan Bennett, Loganville; 3. Dustin Smith, Carrollton; 4. Dorough Bright, Newnan; 5. David Brackett, Villa Rica; 6. Brandon Bright, Newnan; 7. Patty Ann Hoell, Kennesaw

Feature 2 — 1. Dorough Bright; 2. Smith; 3. Merritt; 4. Bennett; 5. Brackett; 6. Hoell DNS-Brandon Bright

More Sports

High School Basketball

Trinity boys rout Young Americans

Trinity Christian’s boys basketball team got a chance to rinse out the taste of a disappointing loss to Bethlehem Christian this week ... Read More

High School Swimming

County meet chance for bragging rights, state times

All three local high school swim teams have the same agenda tonight when they return to the Summit Family YMCA for the annual Coweta County ... Read More

High School Basketball

Northgate, Heritage, Trinity girls earn big victories

In a solid night for girls basketball around the county, Northgate put together its first winning streak of the season on Tuesday, while GIS ... Read More


Northgate, Newnan finish among top five at 29-team Tribal Challenge

East Coweta hosted its largest field in history for Saturday’s ninth-annual Tribal Challenge held at the Summit Family YMCA in Newnan ... Read More

Local high school swimmers compete

East Coweta, Newnan and Northgate swimmers competed against well over a dozen schools during Saturday’s annual Tribal Challenge Meet, ... Read More

High School Basketball

Heritage School, Northgate girls earn victories

The Heritage School wrapped up a string of three impressive victories in GISA Region play last week by thumping Griffin Christian 56-17 on t ... Read More